A Guide To Built-in Wall Ovens:

How to Decide Which Wall Oven is Right For You

Wall ovens feature intriguing design options for any kitchen. Because they’re built into a wall, they open up more counter space or create room for additional cabinets or undercounter appliances or allow you to cook in a more spacious environment.

Here are some key details to consider when shopping for a wall oven that can satisfy your cooking needs.

Whirlpool Built-In Wall Oven Installed in Modern Kitchen

Wall Oven Overview

A typical wall oven can share some common features with ranges like bake, broil roast, convection baking, convection broiling, convection roasting, meat probes, timers and a delayed start function. WiFi connectivity is becoming an option in wall ovens. With WiFi connectivity, owners can remotely start, stop, modify the temperature and receive cooking notifications via an app developed by the manufacturer.

The market offers a variety of wall oven features, configurations and heating systems making it difficult for some people to choose the right one to match their kitchen and cooking needs.

Heating Systems

Whirlpool Thermal Oven Interior Detail Photo

Thermal Ovens

Thermal ovens, also referred to as conventional ovens, features the classic thermal baking system. This cooks food via a bake element at the bottom and a broil element at the top.

Whirlpool Convection Oven Interior Detail Photo

Convection Ovens

Convection ovens offer owners the power of either convection or thermal heat. Owners have the control to decide which to use based on what they want to bake or broil and how. This system uses fans to evenly distribute heat throughout the oven cavity. The result is reduced cooking time and more even baking.

Fan and True Convection Oven Interior Photo with Cookies Baking

There Are Two Types of Convection

Fan Convection systems employ the use of a fan to evenly distribute heat through the oven cavity, so you can enjoy more uniform temperatures compared to traditional thermal cooking. Whirlpool does not offer wall ovens with fan convection.

True Convection introduces an additional heating element behind a fan. This third heating element produces a consistent temperature and achieves even cooking by ensuring that warm air is distributed throughout the oven.

It’s important to note that the majority of cooking instructions and recipes consider only thermal (conventional) ovens. Certain models are programmed to make the conversion whereas others require the use of additional online resources.

Configurations

Whirlpool Double Wall Oven Configuration Example

Double Wall Ovens

Double wall ovens come with two ovens and a single control panel. They offer increased flexibility with separate upper and lower ovens, allowing you to cook multiple dishes at the same time at different temperatures. Additionally, they are available with either convection or thermal baking systems.

See Models

Whirlpool Single Wall Oven Configuration Example

Single Wall Ovens

If your cooking needs generally require one oven, you should consider single wall ovens. These are available in either convection or thermal baking systems.

See Models

Whirlpool Combined Wall Oven Configuration Example

Combination Wall Ovens

Combination wall ovens are configured in a stacked suite, comprised of a microwave and a convection or thermal oven and a single control panel. One potential benefit of this suite is that the microwave can sometimes double as an extra convection oven.

See Models

Sizes

Whirlpool Built-In Wall Oven With Roast and Vegetables Cooking Inside

Kitchens come in different sizes and wall ovens require a perfect fit. There are wall ovens in a variety of sizes to meet your needs.

Wall ovens commonly come in 27” and 30” wide dimensions. Certain lines have 24” width options for smaller kitchens. Height is usually based on the configuration and brand type: singles are often around 29” high, doubles 51”high, and combinations 42” high. The depth of all units is approximately 23”.

Always check the manufacturer’s specifications for precise measurements as they may vary.

Wall Oven Installation & Integration


Whirlpool Wall Oven Installation Interior Example

Certain types of wall ovens can be installed flush. Others protrude roughly 1”, known as proud installation. Often, a flush wall oven needs more depth than that which is usually provided by standard cabinetry. There are brands that may need a flush installation kit. It’s recommended to thoroughly review the installation and dimension guides prior to installation.

Some wall ovens help you save space by having the option to be installed under cooktops. You will want to consult with your manufacturer that the configuration you have is compatible with this type of installation.

Ensure that you or your tradesperson tasked with installing your wall oven review and follow the instructions in the installation guide. This is imperative to understand the electrical requirements, the parts required for assembly and installation and cabinetry cutout dimensions.

Whirlpool Double Built-In Ovens and Cooktop Installation Example

Whirlpool offers a FIT Guarantee that helps ensure your new 27” (68.58 cm) or 30” (76.2 cm) Whirlpool wall oven fits into your existing space*. With the FIT system, your wall oven can fit seamlessly into your current cabinet cutout with its flexible installation system. If your new wall oven doesn’t fit, Whirlpool will pay up to $300* toward cabinet modification. Now replacing your wall oven just got easier.

*Time limited offer. Offer subject to change or cancellation without prior notice. FIT system limited guarantee

Cleaning

Whirlpool Built-In Wall Oven Manual or Standard Clean

Manual or Standard Clean

Cleaning by hand is required for manual or standard ovens. Using cleaning agents might be necessary for the purpose of stain removal. Carefully follow the appliance and product use and care instructions prior to cleaning as it is your best source of information and directions.

Whirlpool Built-In Self-Clean Wall Oven

Self-clean

Self-clean ovens are equipped with features that contribute to the oven cleaning process. Features can include a high-heat self-clean option that locks the door and heats the oven cavity to around 800 °F (400°C). This incinerates any spills or food. Afterward, you must wipe out any remaining food particles. This can take up to six hours.

Built-In Steam Clean Wall Oven

Steam Clean

Steam clean is an option available in certain wall ovens. This utilizes high-heat self-clean in addition to low heat and the introduction of water to create steam. This helps release residue in a shorter cycle. Any remaining residue and water needs to be cleaned by hand, possibly with the use of chemical cleaners.

Whirlpool does not offer wall ovens with Steam Clean option.

Finish

Whirlpool Wall Oven Stainless Steel Finish Example

Choose a finish to suit your style

Wall ovens come in a variety of finishes, including but not limited to black, white and stainless steel. Style of handles range from contemporary to traditional. These varieties give owners ample opportunities to match their kitchen design preferences.

Guide de fours muraux encastrés:

Quels éléments prendre en considération dans le choix d’un four mural

Les fours muraux offrent des possibilités de design intéressantes pour toute cuisine. Étant donné qu’ils sont installés sur le mur, ils libèrent l’espace normalement utilisé par les cuisinières. Cela vous procure davantage d’espace pour les appareils de comptoir, les armoires et donne une sensation d’ouverture à votre espace de cuisine.

Veuillez consulter ci-dessous des détails importants à considérer lorsque vous recherchez un four mural.

Kitchen Suite Single Wall Oven

Aperçu des fours muraux

Les fours muraux offrent des possibilités de design intéressantes pour toute cuisine. Étant donné qu’ils sont installés sur le mur, ils libèrent l’espace normalement utilisé par les cuisinières. Cela vous procure davantage d’espace pour les appareils de comptoir, les armoires et donne une sensation d’ouverture à votre espace de cuisine.

En raison de la variété des caractéristiques, configurations et types d’alimentation des fours muraux offerts sur le marché, il peut être difficile de choisir le modèle qui conviendra à vos besoins.

Systèmes de chauffage

Inside Oven

Fours thermiques

Les fours thermiques, aussi appelés fours conventionnels, offrent le système de cuisson thermique classique incluant un élément de cuisson sur la base et un élément de rôtissage sur le haut de la cavité du four.

Whirlpool Convection Wall Oven Heat Distribution Diagram

Fours à convection

Les fours à convection offrent une chaleur à convection et thermique à la fois; vous pouvez choisir d’utiliser l’une ou l’autre, en fonction de ce que vous voulez cuire ou rôtir, et comment. Les fours à convection sont dotés de ventilateur afin d’aider à distribuer l’air chaud uniformément dans toute la cavité du four, réduisant les temps de cuisson et contribuant à une cuisson plus stable.

Whirlpool Inside Convection Oven

Il existe deux types de convection

Les systèmes de convection par ventilateur sont dotés d’un ventilateur contribuant à distribuer la chaleur uniformément dans le four, ce qui procure une température plus uniforme que la cuisson thermique traditionnelle. Whirlpool n’offre pas de fours muraux à convection par ventilateur .

Les systèmes de convection véritable sont dotés d’un élément chauffant supplémentaire. Ce troisième élément chauffant est placé derrière un puissant ventilateur qui assure que l’air chaud est réparti dans tout le four, lequel reste à une température constante, pour des résultats de cuisson uniformes.

Most cooking instructions and recipes are written with thermal (conventional) ovens in mind. Some ovens automatically make the conversion. If not, there are resources available online.

Configurations

Whirlpool Built-In Double Oven In Modern Kitchen

Fours muraux doubles

Les fours muraux doubles offrent deux fours et un seul tableau de commandes. Les fours muraux doubles sont disponibles avec les systèmes à convection ou thermiques. Les fours supérieur et inférieur distincts vous donnent la possibilité de faire cuire simultanément plusieurs plats à des températures différentes.

Voir les modêles

Whirlpool Built-In Single Oven In Modern Kitchen

Fours muraux simples

Les fours muraux simples offrent un seul four et sont munis d'un tableau de commandes. Les fours simples sont disponibles avec les systèmes à convection ou thermiques.

Voir les modêles

Whirlpool Built-In Combination Wall Oven Stacked Suite

Fours muraux combinés

Les fours muraux combinés sont un duo comprenant un four à micro-ondes et un four à convection ou thermique, et un seul panneau de commandes. Souvent, le four à micro-ondes peut aussi être utilisé comme un four à convection supplémentaire.

Voir les modêles

Tailles

Whirlpool Built-In Single Oven In Modern Kitchen

Vous avez besoin d’un four mural de taille idéale? Les fours muraux sont offerts en différentes tailles pour convenir le mieux à vos besoins.

Les fours muraux se présentent le plus souvent en 27 ou 30 po de large. Certaines gammes proposent des fours de 24 po de large pour les petites cuisines. La hauteur varie selon la marque et la configuration, les fours simples sont en général d’une hauteur de 29 po, les fours doubles de 51 po et les fours combinés de 42 po. La profondeur pour toutes les unités est d’environ 23 po.

Vérifiez toujours les spécifications du fabricant pour les mesures précises, car ces dernières peuvent varier.

Intégration et installation du four mural

Whirlpool Built-In Single Oven Interior

Certains fours muraux peuvent être installés en affleurant et d’autres sont conçus pour être saillants d’environ 1 po. Dans de nombreux cas, un four mural affleurant nécessitera des armoires plus profondes que la norme. Pour certaines marques, une trousse d’installation affleurante peut être requise. Souvenez-vous de toujours consulter le guide d’installation et de dimensions pour planifier en conséquence.

Pour vous aider à économiser de l’espace, certains fours muraux peuvent être installés sous les tables de cuisson. Assurez-vous simplement de consulter les instructions du fabricant car cette configuration n’est pas possible pour toutes les marques ou modèles.

Whirlpool Built-In Double Wall Oven FIT System

Afin de bien comprendre les exigences électriques, les pièces requises pour l’assemblage et l’installation, et les dimensions de découpe des armoires, il est critique pour vous et votre constructeur de lire et suivre le guide d’installation.

Whirlpool offre une garantie d’installation FIT permettant d’assurer que votre nouveau four mural KitchenAid(r) de 27 po (68,58 cm) ou de 30 po (76,2 cm) convient à votre espace existant*. Grâce au système d’installation FIT polyvalent, votre four mural s'adapte facilement à votre découpe d’armoire actuelle. Si votre nouveau four mural ne correspond pas à votre découpe, la marque Whirlpool vous allouera jusqu’à 300$ pour modifier vos armoires*. Remplacer votre four mural est désormais plus simple.

*Offre à durée limitée et peut être modifiée ou annulée sans préavis.
En savoir plus.

Nettoyage

Whirlpool Oven Interior

Nettoyage manuel ou standard

Les fours à nettoyage manuel ou standard requièrent un nettoyage physique à la main. L’utilisation d’agents de nettoyage sont souvent nécessaires pour éliminer les taches.

Whirlpool Oven Interior

Autonettoyage

Les fours autonettoyants offrent des caractéristiques qui aident au processus de nettoyage. Avec le nettoyage à haute température, la porte est verrouillée et la cavité chauffe à environ 800 °F (400 °C), brûlant tout renversement ou résidu d’aliment. Après la fin du programme, il est nécessaire d’essuyer tout résidu restant, un processus qui peut prendre entre 2 et 6 heures.

Whirlpool Oven Interior

Nettoyage à la vapeur

Le nettoyage à vapeur est offert sur certains fours muraux et utilise une chaleur basse et de l’eau afin de créer de la vapeur pour aider à décoller les résidus dans la cavité, en un temps de programme plus court. Tout résidu d’eau ou d’aliment doit être retiré manuellement. Des produits de nettoyage chimiques peuven être requis. Whirlpool n’offre pas de fours muraux avec nettoyage à la vapeur.

Finis

Whirlpool Wall Oven Handle

Choisissez un fini qui convient à votre style.

Les fours muraux sont offerts en une variété de finis, tels que le noir, blanc, acier inoxydable, acier inoxydable noir et plus. Les styles de poignées vont de contemporains à traditionnels, avec de nombreuses options entre les deux. Cette grande variété vous permet de convenir aux préférences de design de votre cuisine.